Dance News

Subscribe to Dance News
Submit News
Dance Ontario's Amy Hampton Among The Award Recipients at d:mic

Artistic Director Yvonne Ng, on behalf of princess productions and guest curators Serge Bennathan and Cylla von Tiedemann, is pleased to announce the award winners from this year's dance: made in canada / fait au canada (d:mic/fac), the cutting-edge contemporary dance festival which had a popular and critically successful run August 14-17, 2013 at the Betty Oliphant Theatre in Toronto.

Contemporary Dance to be Performed in Front of Milton Town Hall

On Wednesday, August 21, Arts Milton in partnership with the Milton Centre for the Arts – Town of Milton and Dance Ontario present an evening of contemporary dance performed by local artists in front of Milton Town Hall. 

In Memoriam - David Howard

David Howard, "Teacher of Stars," trained at the Cone Ripman (now Arts Educational) School and the Royal Academy of Dancing, winning the prestigious Adeline Genee Award at 16. Mr. Howard was a soloist with the Royal Ballet for 7 years before joining the National Ballet of Canada President of the national Association for Regional Ballet from 1976-1979. He guest taught for Royal Ballet, ABT, Joffrey Ballet, San Francisco Ballet and National Ballet of Canada.

Newton Moraes Dance Theatre will be exhibiting at the Rotunda at Toronto City Hall from August 26 - Sept 1, 2013.

Drop by and see lovely images by Cylla von Tiedemann, David Hou and others plus archival material daily from 9:30 am - 5:00pm.

Summer Bits & Bites

The Canadian Dance Assembly has announced that Executive Director Natalie Fave will be leaving as of August 15. Aviva Fleising will steer the organization as Interim Executive Director while the board searches for a new leader. Natalie will be missed.

PM Appoints Shelly Glover to Heritage Portfolio

Prime Minister Stephen Harper has named Shelly Glover to replace James Moore at the Dept of Canadian Heritage.
Married with five children, she was a serving police officer for 19 years and has recently served as Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance.

Dance Ontario is soliciting nominations for the New DANCE ONTARIO YOUTH AWARD. This annual award seeks to recognize exceptional young dancers ages 19 & under who are not only pursuing excellence in their craft but go above and beyond making a difference in the lives of others and/or contributing to the dance community.

Click here for details

A comprehensive immigration reform bill passed by the US Senate last week stands to make it easier for foreign artists to visit the country. The 1,200-page bill, which offers a path to citizenship for millions of illegal immigrants, also requires the government to process artists' visa requests within one month of their initial filing. Under the current system, artists can wait up to six months for a visa and must pay a fee of $1,225 to receive expedited service.

Nadia Potts: Recipient of the Dance Ontario Lifetime Achievement Award

The Dance Ontario Awards Committee (BaKari Ifasegun Lindsay, Ofilio Sinbadinho Portillo and Peter Ryan) today announced that the Association's 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to Nadia Potts.